A festival! Of books!

September 27, 2008

, originally uploaded by erin m.

The National Book Festival is always better when Neil Gaiman is there. At least that’s what I think in the off years, when he’s off visiting other readers in other states around this day and I’m camping out in the mystery tent looking for a new author to read. This year, I felt very badly for the fans who crammed his reading, then raced toward the signing tent (stopping in the elbow-room’s-a-luxury book sales tent that ran out of his new book anyway), stood in line with hundreds of other people also hoping for a few precious seconds with him, and then got rained on when the storm that had been threatening all day finally broke. I love Neil Gaiman, but even my adoration has its limits.

My souvenir? Pretty pictures of my favorite author, like the one up there. And others, which can be found here.

Leave a Reply

