Hallowawesome

October 26, 2008

Coilhouse this morning reminded me of this amazing, trippy, embarrassing, so-bad-it’s-possibly-scarred-me-for-life Halloween institution.

I loved this movie. I loved this movie in ways that only a maladjusted slightly loony 8-year-old girl could ever express. I watched it every year until I was probably 18, and I’m sure a visit to my parent’s not-ready-to-throw-this-stuff-out closet would reveal that I wore out the VHS on which it was recorded. This movie warped my childhood to the point that when I finally got around to seeing an episode of “The Facts of Life,” I recognized Charlotte Rae as That Woman From ‘The Worst Witch’ instead of the other way around. I am positive my earliest affection for “Rocky Horror” was a direct result of Tim Curry’s role in this movie. (I’ve since grown to love it on its own merits, as all God-fearing 20-somethings must.)

I loved this movie.

Having watched huge chunks of it today (thank you, YouTube. Thank you.), I’m suddenly faced with wrapping my head around the fact that my slightly batty youth wasn’t actually made up by my now-kinda-bored brain. My childhood–represented by my love for watching Tim Curry fly around in awesome ’80s graphics and sing (!!)–was every bit as wacked out as I remember it being.

That makes me so happy. Everything else about life can change and redevelop and fade away, but Tim Curry’s awesomeness is the one constant I will count on until the day I die.

EDIT: Andy says: “Without the clip, I’d claim you hallucinated this movie.  Even with the clip, I’m not entirely convinced.” My brother says: “Holy crap! It’s like Tim Curry doing a Tim Curry impression after eating a whole box of David Bowie!”

One Response to “Hallowawesome”

  1. buschap said

    I need to lend you the episode of Tales from the Crypt where Tim Curry plays multiple roles.

    I’m glad the world is such that he exists.

Leave a Reply

